College Book Awards Recognize to Outstanding Juniors

On Thursday, May 30th, the High School honored a select group of Juniors at the prestigious “Junior Book Awards Assembly.”

Many colleges and universities partner each spring with high schools to ceremonially present “College Book Awards” to outstanding Juniors. Recipients are recognized for academic achievement, success, political advocacy, service, leadership, as well as in specific subject areas .

These awards are given to recognize the next generation of leaders and to attract high caliber students who are likely to succeed in their respective colleges.

The books awarded are often written by alumni or faculty, as colleges look for well rounded students who can contribute, succeed and make a difference on their college campus.

The following are the recipients of the Junior Book Awards:

Harvard Club Book Award – Yosef Melul

Brown University Book Award – Batya Fruhman

University of Pennsylvania Book Award – Jacob Stein

Brandeis University Book Award – Samantha Ebner

George Washington University Book Award – Noah Ganem

Johns Hopkins University Book Award – Michelle Behar

Yeshiva University Book Award – Bryan Saka

Stern College for Women Book Award – Micaela Safdie

University of Rochester – Jaclyn Nussenblatt
Frederick Douglass & Susan B. Anthony Award for Social Justice

University of Rochester – Yael Bister
George Eastman Young Leaders Award

University of Rochester – Avigail Kahn
Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award

University of Rochester – Daniel Ben-Simon
Xerox Award for Innovation & Information Technology

Congratulations again to all the recipients of these prestigious Book Awards!

Sue Enis
Director of College Counseling